Füzér Castle - Füzer
The ruins of Füzér Castle stand on a solitary rock cone at the edge of the village. It was built by the designs of "Blind" Anoronicus at the beginning of the 13th century. It was expanded in the 14th and 15th centuries. It was ruined at the end of the 18th century. Its architectural characteristics include stone remains in lace form. The entire castle hill is a protected historic site with protected plants and animals. The reconstruction of the castle has only lately begun in earnest. A significant part of the castle walls are standing, the most in tact is its beautiful, two-store Gothic chapel and renewed shingle roof structure. The renewed casle chapel was inaugurated in 2002.
Latitude and longitude: N 48° 32' 31", E 21° 27' 34"
Although the exterior of the Károlyi House, which is surrounded by the woods of Füzérradvány, recalls a romantic atmosphere, one can find a genuine Italian renaissance milieu in its splendid rooms. Its beautiful stone-carvings, marble fireplaces, door posts, and embossments that used to decorate Italian renaissance palaces were made by 16th- and 17th-century Florentine maestri. At the end of the 19th century, László Károlyi, the lord of the House, and his wife decided to change their home into a genuine renaissance style. They collected renaissance and baroque pieces of decoration and furniture for almost two decades. They bought articles usually from one of the most famous antiquaries of the time: among them were stone carvings (which were built in the walls of the House), fireplaces, and also furniture and articles for personal use, which were also genuine Italian renaissance works of art. Unfortunately, several of these were lost after the Second World War; however, some were brought back in the 1990s when the castle was reopened for visitors. On the first floor of the House, which is being renovated at the moment, one can find rooms (the former kitchen, the dining room, the salon and the bedroom of the count, and the bathroom with a marble pool) the interior of which recalls an atmosphere of the aristocratic world. The originally Baroque style was changed to the Romantic and Eclectic styles in 1857-1859. The garden is a protected natural site. Services: The House is a perfect venue for organizing weddings, balls, and musical and cultural programmes. Café operates in the park.
Latitude and longitude: N 48° 29' 10", E 21° 31' 39"
Porcelain Factory in Hollóháza
The Porcelain Factory in Hollóháza – operated by Hungarian Porcelain Manufactory Ltd. - is one of the few Hungarian factories with a historical tradition since 1777. This little manufactory employs 110 people and it is situated in the North-East Hungary.
The adventure park is provided by the services that everyone can overcome their "limits" both physical and psychological
Field description: Winter and summer toboggan run 2275-meter length of the country and the region the longest of his career, Bob. The country's longest sitting chair elevator: his floating length 1332 m, nearly 200 can transport person in a time. A station is at 3 disposal, on the peak of the Magas mountain being leads under cca. 20 minutes to a rebuilt lookout. Snow doughnut slide: 3 pieces 60 m-es tubby orbit Ski slope with a plastic cover: 4 seasonal skiing opportunities on 10400 M2, with 2 elevators. Snowmaking ski, kids track lift. Adventure orbits: wire-rope with 4 levels orbit canopy-val, climbingfallal New doctrine path system with 15 stations, his full length: 20 km. In the summer skating rink, in the winter ice-skating rink beside the chairlift's starting station. 1,036 meters long with two closed panoramic glass cabins for 6 people, each, and 80 km / h speed, 152 m altitude extreme ropes course. Hungary's first, unique experience!
Type: bobsled, canopy, other, extreme sports, skate board, roller skates, skating rink, adventure park, skiing, cross-country skiing, hiking
Latitude and longitude: N 48° 24' 47", E 21° 38' 40"
is a town in Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén county, northern Hungary in the Bodrog river valley. The town, often called simply Patak, is an important cultural centre.
Castle of Sárospatak
Its castle, built by Andrew II, is traditionally identified as the birthplace of his daughter Saint Elizabeth.
Sárospatak was elevated to the rank of free royal town by King Sigismund. In 1460, during the reign of King Matthias it received the right to hold a market. In 1575 a plague killed many of the inhabitants.
The owners of the castle of Sárospatak include many important individuals in Hungarian history. In the 16th century it was owned by the Dobó family. Bálint Balassi, the most important Hungarian poet of the century married Krisztina Dobó at the castle; the bride was the daughter of István Dobó, who defended the castle of Eger against the Ottoman Turks. Later the castle was owned by the Rákóczi family. The residents of the town took an active part in the revolution and war of independence against Habsburg rule led by Francis II Rákóczi between 1703 and 1711.
College of Sárospatak
The Reformation began spreading into Hungary from this area. The first Protestant college, one of the most important colleges of Hungary at the time, was founded in Sárospatak in 1531. In 1650 Zsuzsanna Lorántffy, widow of George I Rákóczi prince of Transylvania invited the famous Czech educator Jan Comenius to Sárospatak. Comenius lived there until 1654, as a professor of the college, and he wrote some of his most important works there. The college (since 2000 a faculty of the University of Miskolc) now bears his name.
Today Sárospatak is a charming historical town and a popular tourist destination.
Zemplén is a historical region of Hungary and also a mountain range in the far North of the country.